Uncategorized

The part where I post some recipes

I realized that I need to post some recipes. So here are a few. BTW, I totally got the Pioneer Woman Cooks cookbook, and I am already in love with it. I am going to make her buttermilk biscuits for my fam this weekend. I’ll let you know how it goes…

Tasty Granola (my own recipe)
1.5 cups oatmeal
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup wheat bran
1/4 cup cream of wheat (flavored or unflavored, your call)
1/4 cup brown sugar or raw sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup canola or other oil
cranberries, walnuts, almonds, whatever else you want to throw in

Mix everything except cranberries or nuts. Bake on a sheet cake pan at 250 degrees for one hour, stirring occasionally. Remove from oven, stir in extras. Yields about 4 cups.

Squash Surprise Casserole
I made/adapted this recipe when I bought a spaghetti squash on the cheap and had no idea what to do with it. The original recipe, from cooks.com, was pretty lame not that great, so I spiced it up a bit.
spaghetti squash, halved
olive oil
half of an onion, chopped
zucchini or yellow squash, chopped
rubbed sage
garlic powder
1 cup of sour cream (I used fat free)
1/2 cup of shredded cheddar
dried bread crumbs of some sort (stuffing mix, stove top, whatever)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Roast spaghetti squash on a baking sheet, flesh side down, for 40 minutes. Shred squash with a fork and transfer to an oiled casserole dish (9X13). Leave the oven on.
Heat about 1 tbsp of EVOO in a skillet. Cook onions and zucchini (you can add other veggies here if you like) until translucent and tender. Stir in sour cream. Spread on top of the spaghetti squash in casserole dish. Sprinkle top with bread cubes and cheese. Bake for 15 minutes, or until gold and bubbly. Enjoy! (Oh, I also added turkey to ours to make it a main dish, but it can be a side too!)

Leave a comment